Week 3/100: Back from Holiday!

For your viewing pleasure, here is Prelude #1 from Bach’s Well Tempered Clavier, Book 1. I recorded this with the webcam from my laptop, haha.


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p3K8wyis5Tg

I actually lost 4 weeks from my trip to the motherland, since I also spent some time in NJ. So, there are 97 weeks remaining. When I got back, the first time playing through this piece I needed to look at the sheet music–I couldn’t remember anything. But it came back quickly enough. It probably still needs a lot of work, but I need to move on.

For want of a suitable next piece, I started working on Minuet in G dur again… There are some pieces that seem like they’re at my level, but the problem is, they’re in some ridiculous key. That is, mechanically speaking, I should have all the skills necessary to play them. But, for pieces that are not in a key I know, it takes way too long for me to search for the notes, and as a result the time to learn the piece is too long. I have come to realize that this is actually a huge problem, as this means it is uneconomic to learn the piece. It is more efficient, I believe, to start with some retardedly simple pieces in a key and work your way up–because I have been learning such retardedly simple pieces with Alfred’s, and I can see that it is actually effective. The key to quick progress is to decompose a complex task into its irreducible factors, and to solve each simple part separately before putting it back together.

Anyway, my roommate has started noodling with Moonlight Sonata (Mvt 1), so I am to race him with Minuet and… the theme from Forest Gump XD I think I could be in trouble because he really loves that piece and spends a lot of time at the piano.

Goals for Week 3:
Minuet + Forest Gump
Finish Alfred’s??? I have something like 4 pieces (that I want to play) left, and a whole bunch that needs polishing.

4 Responses to “Week 3/100: Back from Holiday!”

  1. guangming Says:

    dude, pretty good.
    I give you a pass.

  2. gene Says:

    Dude. You’re never going to be able to play the Revolutionary Etude in two years.

  3. guess who Says:

    Pretty good. keepgoing.

  4. CanardRoti Says:

    Not bad man, good work for so little time of practice. As far as Gene, you are quite an ugly looking guy, super geeky (after viewing your page). He does not have to play it like he was Horowitz, if he is able to even get through it, it would be a great achievement.

Leave a Reply

